Testimonials

A heartfelt 'Thank You' to all our lovely guests who have taken the trouble to leave us their comments.  It is greatly appreciated. 

For more testimonials and reviews, please visit us on TripAdvisor

We have had a lovely stay at The Byre.  Beautiful walks and pubs nearby.  We have enjoyed chilling out by the fire and waking up to the beautiful views.  Happy New Year!

Stayed in The Byre, January 2019

 

We've had such a lovely, relaxing stay celebrating S's birthday.  Thanks so much to Amanda & Barney for looking after us so well and especially for the birthday prosecco and cake when we arrived!  The breakfast hamper every morning has been amazing (love drinking coffee while watching the sheep and rainy views outside) as well as Amanda's thoughtful recommendations.  Food at the Griffin was perfect.  The walk up Pen y Fan was wet and wild (but fun) - probably better when there's a view!  Thanks again for a lovely stay and we hope to come back one day.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut, December 2018

 

What a lovely comfy cottage.  From the moment we walked in we felt at home - especially H the dog!  We had a great time walking around Brecon one day and the waterfall walk - a good workout.  Dinner at The Griffin was lovely and on a cold starry night the walk home flew by gazing upwards!  Thank you for making our stay so comfortable - gorgeous bed.

Stayed in The Byre, November 2018

 

Thank you for our cosy stay, we love the underfloor heating and the bed extremely comfortable!  It's been the perfect escape for a couple of days and your kindness and attention to detail made it all the better.

Stayed in the Shepherd's Hut, November 2018

 

Thanks very much Amanda and Barney for a lovely weekend.  The hut is really comfortable and welcoming.  We loved eating our breakfast looking out over the fields to the mountains beyond.  We can recommend the walk up Pen y Fan - the views are fantastic and you feel you are on top of the world.  This is our first visit to the Brecon Beacons and we are already planning many more because there's so much to enjoy.  Hope to come back soon.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut, October 2018

 

Had a fantastic experience at The Dome.  We wanted to relax and unwind after a busy summer season, and we did just that!  The Dome is warm, cosy, and in a perfect position to admire the stunning views.  We spent hours in your luxurious tub which was a lovely peaceful time with the autumn leaves falling all around us - blissful.  We will definitely be back and will highly recommend it to our friends and family.  Thank you for the delicious cake too. 

Stayed in The Dome, October 2018

 

We have had a fantastic time in The Byre.  Lovely, thoughtful and very comfortable accommodation with fabulous views.  So much to do in the area as well.  We had a day boar from Brecon Boat Park, and took a trip on the canal, walked up Pen y Fan, saw the Waterfalls at Ystadfellte, had a day in Hay-on-Wye and walked around the lake at Llangorse.  Feel totally rested after lots of walking and deep sleeps in such comfortable beds.  Oh, and we at at The Griffin, which as others have said, serves delicious food and a great selection of wine and gins - particularly liked the Chase Williams Elegant 48 Gin - managed just a few after our days out - very pleasant indeed!  Thank you Amanda and Barney. We hope to be back.

Stayed in The Byre, September 2018

 

To Amanda & Barney, Thank you for such a lovely two days. This little Shepherd's Hut is the sweetest accommodation we've ever stayed in.  It has everything we could possibly need... a comfy bed, log burner, a nice hot shower, tea and cake?  Our contentment levels have been through the (tiny) roof!  The views are wonderful and seeing/hearing the nearby wildlife has been amusing!  W'll most definitely recommend this place to our family & friends...and we'll certainly visit again.  Diolch.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut, September 2018

 

Arrived Monday night for a 5 day except off grid to celebrate our 3 year anniversary....what a place!  Made some unforgettable memories, spent hours soaking in the luvtub watching the sheep and the incredible view.  You truly have a beautiful and wondrous home here in an awe-inspiring location.  Great walks, pubs and adventures all round - if you're here with a dog we recommend The Bank in Brecon for amazing food and service!  Will be telling our friends and family to visit ASAP.  Thanks for being truly amazing hosts!

Stayed in The Dome, September 2018

 

The Barn has everything. Solitude, comfort, picturesque surroundings.  Amanda and Barney are great hosts and we will be recommending Argoed Barns to family and friends.  The attention to detail and thought into every aspect makes this place very special.  Thank you for sharing your dream with us.

Stayed in The Byre, August 2018

 

One of our best last minute decisions!  What a gorgeous setting.  We don't know the area, but we have already fallen in love with it.  The hut is very cosy and comfortable, with so many lovely little touches.  We felt very relaxed.  We enjoyed the obligatory dinner at the Griffin!  Nice food, friendly staff and the right mix of casual and fine dining. super walk from Llangorse Lake up and round the hill ridges (about 8 miles) - beautiful views.  We will definitely be back - we think we've found our 'special place'.  Thank you, Amanda.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut, August 2018

 

Thank you for creating such a wonderful place to stay.  Everything about the Dome is amazing.  It is the most relaxing place we've ever stayed.  What a perfect break away.  Everyone should get to experience this!

Stayed in The Dome, August 2018

 

We are back again!  Thank you for another wonderful stay; we thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at The Byre.  Can't beat those amazing views!  We always feel so comfortable and at home here.  Managed to be lucky the first week and the weather was great for night sky viewings.  Came here for the Mars opposition but also to see the milky way in all its glory.  Witnessed the odd shooting star, electrical storm and unfortunately the wild fire on the mountains in the distance... The cakes and goodies were very welcoming after a long drive - a lovely touch - thank you!  And thank you Loki for your occasional visits and cuddles! I'm sure we'll be back again

Stayed in The Byre, July 2018

 

Such a unique glamping experience.  Beautiful views from such a unique setting.  From the dark skies at night with amazing views of the starlit sky to the joys of the hot tub this was a wonderful break and ideal for getting off the grid and surrounded by natural beauty. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Stayed in The Dome, July 2018

 

Thank you so much for an idyllic stay in your romantic shepherd's hut for our 21st wedding anniversary.  We have enjoyed drinking in the scenery and the amazing panoramic views.  We enjoyed our climb u pPen y Fan and visiting the waterfalls at Ystradfellte.  We highly recommend eating at The Griffin - the food was delicious - and the bike ride there and back exhilarating!  Spending the evenings star gazing was magical - we will cherish the memory of our stay here and hope to return - maybe the geodome next time or the cottage with the children?! Thank you for being such wonderful friendly hosts too.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut July 2018

 

Thank you for a lovely stay.  The place is beautiful and so relaxing.  E enjoyed picking her own strawberries for the first time ever.  The cases were a lovely surprise and Y enjoyed the dog biccies too.  Slept very well.  Found the beds super comfortable!  Thanks again for everything.

Stayed in The Byre, June 2018 

What a fantastic bolthole with amazing views.  Great first night firing pizzas in the outdoor oven and admiring the wonderful view.  Breakfast was a real treat each morning and Amanda the perfect host.  If you're looking for a good day out within driving distance then visit Waterfall country - Sgwd Ddwli is a must see.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut June 2018

40th Birthday Extravaganza - when I suggested to my other half that he book somewhere for a long weekend, over my extra special birthday, I didn't think I'd be sipping welsh sparkling wine in a wood fired hot tub next to a glamping dome overlooking the Brecon Beacons!  What a treat: to sit around a fire pit, wake up to an extra-ordinary view, watch the sun set, in a hot tub for two with a goat and sheep choir.  We've even seen the red kites, rabbits and squirrels.  We've enjoyed our time off grid and would recommend the pedalos in Brecon.

Stayed in The Dome, June 2018

 

It's hard to see how we could have had a better time this week!  The barn is absolutely stunning and we've had the most perfect weather to match!  As far as relaxing weeks away go, this has been up there with the best; sitting on the decking with a glass of champagne taking in the stunning view was the perfect way to start our long overdue honeymoon (only 10 months late!).  Thank you for everything and we look forward to visiting your Spanish version of Argoed in the future.

Stayed in The Byre, May 2018

 

We cam e here to switch off from work and celebrate our first wedding anniversary.  We have had a great time despite all sorts of weather and will remember our time in the little Shepherd's Hut for many years to come!  Thank you Amanda and Barney for being so welcoming and having plenty of great suggestions.  Bank Holiday weekend well spent!

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut May 2018

 

Well, where do we even begin! You gave the most amazing warm welcome (and an amazing chocolate cake).  We instantly felt at ease.  The barn is the most beautiful, relaxing place we have ever stayed, you really have thought of every little detail.  The log fire kept us nice and cosy, after our long days out enjoying what you have to offer on your doorstep!  Thank you so very much - we will return.

Stayed in The Byre, April 2018

 

 

We had a lovely, cosy weekend in the Shepherd's Hut with fantastic weather.  We were able to climb Pen y Fan and ate Amanda's delicious packed lunches from the top, admiring the views.  Family reunion at the Wellington Hotel where we inherited the family welsh bible dating back to 1847.  The Griffin had fabulous food, would have gone back  if had time.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut April 2018

 

What a great place!  We've seen fantastic places and eaten amazing food.  We recommend Sgwd yr Eira waterfall followed by lunch at the Red Lion at Penderyn, a walk along the Mon and Brec canal to the aqueduct followed by lunch at the Three Horseshoes at Groesfford and of course a meal at The Griffin.  All these pubs were so dog friendly.

Stayed in The Byre, March 2018

 

A short but wonderful weekend on a hillside in one of the most tranquil parts of mid-Wales, overlooking the Beacons.  Legend has it that Marie-Antoinette dressed up as a shepherdess and although that was the product of an increasingly revolutionary agenda that has not prevented us from enjoying this warm, snug and comfortable abode as we imagined ourselves in a similar role.  Thank you for your warm welcome and your wonderful breakfasts.

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut March 2018

 

Beautiful location and the barn is stunning - great kitchen with everything we needed, fabulous bathrooms and very comfy beds.  Coupled with the views, we couldn't have wished for anything more!  Huge thanks - we will be back.

Stayed in The Byre February 2018

 

Thank you for such a fantastic stay!  The most beautiful and peaceful spot - so lovely and cosy in the hut even with the sub zero temperatures outside.  A lovely warm welcome from Amanda who thinks of everything you could possibly need.  Hope to come back again one day - THANK YOU!

Stayed in The Shepherd's Hut February 2018

What a fabulous festive season we had!  We would echo all the positive and supportive sentiments already expressed throughout this book.  We brought our own 'kitchen sink' but did not need to.  We saw the top of Pen y Fan on every day except Xmas day.  We saw snow, frost, rain, mist; we walked high and low and never a drop of rain touched us (just about).  Wherever we were on the hill in cloud, it was always sunny in the valley.  Our family and visiting friends all enjoyed the great situation, the comfort, the thoughtful details.  We hope to be here again, maybe picking up more furniture bargains in Hay.

Stayed in The Byre Dec 2017/Jan 2018

 
Wow - what can I possible say about Argoed Barns that hasn't been said before!? It was perchance that I found the place at all as my original plan had been to book a room at The Felin Fach Griffin nearby, they happened to be full but kindly put me in touch with Amanda and I am so pleased they did. I stayed two nights in the Shepherd's Hut and had the most enjoyable time, it may be diminutive in size but it was more than adequate for my 6ft plus frame and came complete with under floor heating and a very neat wet room. The hut was beautifully furnished, attention to detail is clearly in Amanda's DNA, everything was though of including the all important wine glasses and opener! The weather was magnificent and waking up to a beautiful sunrise over distant hills was lovely - as was the tasty breakfast that soon followed. With more attractions locally than I imagined there is something for everyone, I dined at the Griffin extremely well but found the return walk uphill somewhat more challenging than the downhill journey earlier!! If you are a petrolhead wishing to drive some of the most scenic and exhilarating roads in the country, a couple looking for a romantic break or a family wishing to explore the hills and byways of mid Wales look no further, Amanda is an amazing host and you will be assured of a warm welcome.
Stayed in the Shepherd's Hut, April 2017
 
We stayed in the dome to celebrate a birthday and an anniversary (and a 24 hour pass from the kids!). It was fabulous. We went for boozy lunch in the Griffin and rolled back for an evening of red wine, the radio and a roaring open fire. We felt like we were completely alone. The pictures on line are beautiful, but the night time is when it really comes into its own. 
If you want bright lights and a bland sanitized hotel chain then this one is not for you….. If you want a magical romantic adventure with a forever memory then stay here. 
Loved it.
Stayed in The Dome, March 2017

It was great to find a holiday let with two equally beautiful double bedrooms both with their own fantastic bathroom. No fights this holiday over who has which room! The facilities were better than described. Lots of information about about interesting days out and things to do. Amanda was very welcoming and the hamper was a lovely surprise. Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Stayed in The Byre, July 2016

Wonderful cosy shephard's hut and you'd be hard-pressed finding better views out of your window. Perfect hosts who are very welcoming and provided a good hearty breakfast (including home-grown eggs) in the mornings and tasty treats in the room on our arrival!
The location is ideal for exploring the beacons and Amanda and Barney were very helpful in advising us on routes etc.
Loved the attention to detail including books and board games and a fire pit which we enjoyed whilst sitting outside drinking wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would love to return some day.
Stayed in the Shepherd's Hut, July 2016

Where do we start? The warmest of welcomes from Amanda and Lokey the Springer together with the lovely food and wine hamper. Even the Waitrose delivery man greeted us with such a warm and friendly welcome. The barn itself is stunning and has everything you need during your stay including jaw dropping views. We had the most wonderful, relaxing week though Basil the Sprocker is still recovering from all the exercise and fresh air! We would highly recommend Amanda's Argoed Barns for a relaxing break which such lovely people. PS: must apologise to Amanda for Basil's barking during her celebrations of Wales victory over Belguim!
Stayed in The Byre, July 2016

We had a fabulous two weeks staying at this wonderful barn, we were so glad that we had booked the two weeks as we definitely didn't want to leave after just one. The barn has been beautifully converted with such attention to detail, luxurious bathrooms and incredibly spacious bedrooms and living area, the photos do not do it justice. Outside there are views in all directions, over to the Brecon Beacons and the Black Mountains, enjoyed from the decking just outside the barn or from benches strategically placed in the grounds of the property.
Amanda, our host came out to welcome us and had left us a basket with some lovely red wine and ploughmans (including homemade chutney and bread)...delicious. The whole family were incredibly friendly, so much so that the barn felt like a home from home.
While staying at Argoed Barns you do feel that you are in the middle of nowhere but it is only a mile walk to The Griffin, a pub well known for its food and helpful staff. Brecon is only a 10 minute drive away where you can pick up everything that you need and it is ideally placed for waling the Brecon Beacons or Black Mountains.
We will definitely want to return.
Stayed June 2016

We spent last weekend in the Shepherds Hut (2 nights) and I was desperate to stay longer! What a wonderful, peaceful haven - beautifully designed and placed in a magical spot overlooking the Black Mountains and Pen-y-Fan. It was a lovely experience from start to finish!
Amanda, our brilliant host had booked us into nearby The Griffin on the Friday night. We were running late so we drove straight to the restaurant, had a delicious dinner, and then were very kindly picked up by Amanda and led to our cosy little hideaway. There was a bottle of Prosecco on ice waiting for us and we drank it under the stars, playing scrabble next to a roaring fire. Utter bliss!
We had a wedding on Saturday morning but thankfully were able to squeeze in a lovely breakfast cooked by Amanda's son, Ben. We checked out on Sunday feeling well and truly rested. We will definitely be back!
Stayed June 2016

We had a wonderful, comfortable, luxurious week, tucked away in this quiet corner of the Brecon Beacons National Park. The setting is glorious with magnificent views towards the Black Mountains in one direction and the Brecon Beacons in the other.
Much to our delight, Amanda, our host had welcomed us with fresh cut flowers and home made bread and jam, and the barn itself has been converted to a very high standard. The open plan living area is tastefully decorated and a wonderful selection of books fills the shelves here and in the bedrooms. There are modern en-suite facilities upstairs and down with unlimited hot water on tap. We felt relaxed and pampered and very much at home!
Outside, our two small grandchildren loved feeding the goats, looking for snails and tadpoles in the pond, watching out for Peter Rabbit and Benjamin Bunny in the hedges and riding around on their balance bikes. When the sun came out, the adults enjoyed sitting out on the decking with a glass of wine in hand.
The sleepy mid-Wales market town of Brecon is just 10 minutes drive away and has a good selection of supermarkets, pubs, coffee shops and restaurants. In the other direction, the famous book town of Hay-on-Wye is under half an hour by car.
I was a little reluctant to write this rave review, as selfishly, one doesn't want too many people to get to know about this delightful little gem.
Stayed June 2016

We spent two nights in the shepherds hut at Argoed Barns recently and it was one of the most relaxing weekends i've ever had. The location really is second to none....the views, well wow. Alll over quiet countrysidejust the sheep to be heard, it really is lovley. The hut was warm and well furnished, with fresh milk and cake there on arrival. It is a 30 minute walk or so to the local pub which we went to on the saturday night. Lovely food and strong cider (which was complimentary due to booking through Amanda at the hut).
Breakfast at the hut was just right- not huge plates of food but plenty to set us up for a day walking up Pen y Fan. Take Amanda's advice if you go-park at the army camp side. We saw 3 others on our way up, unlike the more popular route at Story Arms. Be warned though, this route is more difficult and we would certainly not have done it with kids.
We slept so well and enjoyed the peace and quiet-time away from our two small children is always precious and this made it even better!!! Would highly recommend. Hope to be back very soon....now just to get the grandparents to babysit for another weekend...
Stayed May 2016

I have finally returned from 3 weeks of travel in Europe and I must say, my stay in the Shepherd's Hut was definitely one of the highlights of my trip! Over the three night stay, I remained shell shocked by the beauty that lay right outside my door. Living in New York City and traveling with a native Londoner, the atmosphere Argoed Barns provided was exactly what we needed to get away. Sheep and their young, bunnies chasing each other, birds chirping, incredible views...too surreal!
The breakfasts were lovely and Amanda was so helpful and kind! Since our introduction I felt like I could come to her with any of our needs or for suggestions. My travel partner and I both felt like we were talking to a relative, not just the owner.
The hut is beautiful and so very peaceful. The tea & treats area is too adorable for words.
Really just so cozy, at times it was hard to leave our little hut!
Amanda, thank you for such a memorable time and your kindness!
Stayed May 2016

Just returned from a lovely weekend staying in the Shepherds Hut. A lovely place to get away from it all and relax. Lovely breakfasts, great views and lots of luxuries. Bath robes to wrap yourself in sat next to the log burner. Wine glasses provided as well as tea and coffee. Books to read, puzzles to do, maps to plan the day. What more can you as for? Thank you to Amanda and her team for such a lovely time.
Stayed May 2016

 

Upcoming Local Events

  • Crickhowell Walking Festival, Crickhowell: March
  • Velothon Wales: Cardiff: May 
  • Hay Festival of Literature, Hay on Wye: May 
  • Abergavenny Festival of Cycling, Abergavenny: June 
  • Royal Welsh Show, Builth Wells: July 
  • Brecon Jazz Festival, Brecon: August 
  • Green Man Festival, Crickhowell: August 
  • Abergavenny Food Festival, Abergavenny: September 
  • Brecon Beast, Brecon:  September 
  • Brecon Beacons Food Festival, Brecon:  October 

Make an Enquiry

Latest Blog Feed

What They Say...

Read More Testimonials

"Stunning views, comfy beds, amazing baths, well equipped and beautifully furnished. What a place to stay!!! We've had such a lovely time here (even the teenagers!!!) and will return!!!"

Ian

Social Media

Website by InSynch

Copyright © Argoed Barns 2016

Argoed Barns, Talachddu, Brecon, Powys, LD3 0UG
07734 722719
contact@argoedbarns.co.uk

footer-icons.png Logo1.jpgLogo2.png