Testimonials

Thank you to our customers for sending us your kind feedback.

For more testimonials and reviews, please visit us on TripAdvisor.

 
Wow - what can I possible say about Argoed Barns that hasn't been said before!? It was perchance that I found the place at all as my original plan had been to book a room at The Felin Fach Griffin nearby, they happened to be full but kindly put me in touch with Amanda and I am so pleased they did. I stayed two nights in the Shepherd's Hut and had the most enjoyable time, it may be diminutive in size but it was more than adequate for my 6ft plus frame and came complete with under floor heating and a very neat wet room. The hut was beautifully furnished, attention to detail is clearly in Amanda's DNA, everything was though of including the all important wine glasses and opener! The weather was magnificent and waking up to a beautiful sunrise over distant hills was lovely - as was the tasty breakfast that soon followed. With more attractions locally than I imagined there is something for everyone, I dined at the Griffin extremely well but found the return walk uphill somewhat more challenging than the downhill journey earlier!! If you are a petrolhead wishing to drive some of the most scenic and exhilarating roads in the country, a couple looking for a romantic break or a family wishing to explore the hills and byways of mid Wales look no further, Amanda is an amazing host and you will be assured of a warm welcome.
Stayed April 2017
 
We stayed in the dome to celebrate a birthday and an anniversary (and a 24 hour pass from the kids!). It was fabulous. We went for boozy lunch in the Griffin and rolled back for an evening of red wine, the radio and a roaring open fire. We felt like we were completely alone. The pictures on line are beautiful, but the night time is when it really comes into its own. 
If you want bright lights and a bland sanitized hotel chain then this one is not for you….. If you want a magical romantic adventure with a forever memory then stay here. 
Loved it.
Stayed March 2017

It was great to find a holiday let with two equally beautiful double bedrooms both with their own fantastic bathroom. No fights this holiday over who has which room! The facilities were better than described. Lots of information about about interesting days out and things to do. Amanda was very welcoming and the hamper was a lovely surprise. Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Stayed July 2016

Wonderful cosy shephard's hut and you'd be hard-pressed finding better views out of your window. Perfect hosts who are very welcoming and provided a good hearty breakfast (including home-grown eggs) in the mornings and tasty treats in the room on our arrival!
The location is ideal for exploring the beacons and Amanda and Barney were very helpful in advising us on routes etc.
Loved the attention to detail including books and board games and a fire pit which we enjoyed whilst sitting outside drinking wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would love to return some day.
Stayed July 2016

Where do we start? The warmest of welcomes from Amanda and Lokey the Springer together with the lovely food and wine hamper. Even the Waitrose delivery man greeted us with such a warm and friendly welcome. The barn itself is stunning and has everything you need during your stay including jaw dropping views. We had the most wonderful, relaxing week though Basil the Sprocker is still recovering from all the exercise and fresh air! We would highly recommend Amanda's Argoed Barns for a relaxing break which such lovely people. PS: must apologise to Amanda for Basil's barking during her celebrations of Wales victory over Belguim!
Stayed July 2016

We had a fabulous two weeks staying at this wonderful barn, we were so glad that we had booked the two weeks as we definitely didn't want to leave after just one. The barn has been beautifully converted with such attention to detail, luxurious bathrooms and incredibly spacious bedrooms and living area, the photos do not do it justice. Outside there are views in all directions, over to the Brecon Beacons and the Black Mountains, enjoyed from the decking just outside the barn or from benches strategically placed in the grounds of the property.
Amanda, our host came out to welcome us and had left us a basket with some lovely red wine and ploughmans (including homemade chutney and bread)...delicious. The whole family were incredibly friendly, so much so that the barn felt like a home from home.
While staying at Argoed Barns you do feel that you are in the middle of nowhere but it is only a mile walk to The Griffin, a pub well known for its food and helpful staff. Brecon is only a 10 minute drive away where you can pick up everything that you need and it is ideally placed for waling the Brecon Beacons or Black Mountains.
We will definitely want to return.
Stayed June 2016]

We spent last weekend in the Shepherds Hut (2 nights) and I was desperate to stay longer! What a wonderful, peaceful haven - beautifully designed and placed in a magical spot overlooking the Black Mountains and Pen-y-Fan. It was a lovely experience from start to finish!
Amanda, our brilliant host had booked us into nearby The Griffin on the Friday night. We were running late so we drove straight to the restaurant, had a delicious dinner, and then were very kindly picked up by Amanda and led to our cosy little hideaway. There was a bottle of Prosecco on ice waiting for us and we drank it under the stars, playing scrabble next to a roaring fire. Utter bliss!
We had a wedding on Saturday morning but thankfully were able to squeeze in a lovely breakfast cooked by Amanda's son, Ben. We checked out on Sunday feeling well and truly rested. We will definitely be back!
Stayed June 2016

We had a wonderful, comfortable, luxurious week, tucked away in this quiet corner of the Brecon Beacons National Park. The setting is glorious with magnificent views towards the Black Mountains in one direction and the Brecon Beacons in the other.
Much to our delight, Amanda, our host had welcomed us with fresh cut flowers and home made bread and jam, and the barn itself has been converted to a very high standard. The open plan living area is tastefully decorated and a wonderful selection of books fills the shelves here and in the bedrooms. There are modern en-suite facilities upstairs and down with unlimited hot water on tap. We felt relaxed and pampered and very much at home!
Outside, our two small grandchildren loved feeding the goats, looking for snails and tadpoles in the pond, watching out for Peter Rabbit and Benjamin Bunny in the hedges and riding around on their balance bikes. When the sun came out, the adults enjoyed sitting out on the decking with a glass of wine in hand.
The sleepy mid-Wales market town of Brecon is just 10 minutes drive away and has a good selection of supermarkets, pubs, coffee shops and restaurants. In the other direction, the famous book town of Hay-on-Wye is under half an hour by car.
I was a little reluctant to write this rave review, as selfishly, one doesn't want too many people to get to know about this delightful little gem.
Stayed June 2016

We spent two nights in the shepherds hut at Argoed Barns recently and it was one of the most relaxing weekends i've ever had. The location really is second to none....the views, well wow. Alll over quiet countrysidejust the sheep to be heard, it really is lovley. The hut was warm and well furnished, with fresh milk and cake there on arrival. It is a 30 minute walk or so to the local pub which we went to on the saturday night. Lovely food and strong cider (which was complimentary due to booking through Amanda at the hut).
Breakfast at the hut was just right- not huge plates of food but plenty to set us up for a day walking up Pen y Fan. Take Amanda's advice if you go-park at the army camp side. We saw 3 others on our way up, unlike the more popular route at Story Arms. Be warned though, this route is more difficult and we would certainly not have done it with kids.
We slept so well and enjoyed the peace and quiet-time away from our two small children is always precious and this made it even better!!! Would highly recommend. Hope to be back very soon....now just to get the grandparents to babysit for another weekend...
Stayed May 2016

I have finally returned from 3 weeks of travel in Europe and I must say, my stay in the Shepherd's Hut was definitely one of the highlights of my trip! Over the three night stay, I remained shell shocked by the beauty that lay right outside my door. Living in New York City and traveling with a native Londoner, the atmosphere Argoed Barns provided was exactly what we needed to get away. Sheep and their young, bunnies chasing each other, birds chirping, incredible views...too surreal!
The breakfasts were lovely and Amanda was so helpful and kind! Since our introduction I felt like I could come to her with any of our needs or for suggestions. My travel partner and I both felt like we were talking to a relative, not just the owner.
The hut is beautiful and so very peaceful. The tea & treats area is too adorable for words.
Really just so cozy, at times it was hard to leave our little hut!
Amanda, thank you for such a memorable time and your kindness!
Stayed May 2016

Just returned from a lovely weekend staying in the Shepherds Hut. A lovely place to get away from it all and relax. Lovely breakfasts, great views and lots of luxuries. Bath robes to wrap yourself in sat next to the log burner. Wine glasses provided as well as tea and coffee. Books to read, puzzles to do, maps to plan the day. What more can you as for? Thank you to Amanda and her team for such a lovely time.
Stayed May 2016

 

Upcoming Local Events

  • Abergavenny Food Festival, Abergavenny: September 
  • Brecon Beast, Brecon:  September 
  • Brecon Beacons Food Festival, Brecon:  October 
  • Crickhowell Walking Festival, Crickhowell: March
  • Velothon Wales: Cardiff: May 
  • Hay Festival of Literature, Hay on Wye: May 
  • Abergavenny Festival of Cycling, Abergavenny: June 
  • Royal Welsh Show, Builth Wells: July 
  • Brecon Jazz Festival, Brecon: August 
  • Green Man Festival, Crickhowell: August 

Make an Enquiry

Latest Blog Feed

What They Say...

Read More Testimonials

"Stunning views, comfy beds, amazing baths, well equipped and beautifully furnished. What a place to stay!!! We've had such a lovely time here (even the teenagers!!!) and will return!!!"

Ian

Social Media

Copyright © Argoed Barns 2016

Argoed Barns, Talachddu, Brecon, Powys, LD3 0UG
07734 722719
contact@argoedbarns.co.uk

footer-icons.png

Website by InSynch